Shannon Roberts


I grew up in Louisville, KY, but now reside in Shelbyville, KY

What is your position in the company?

Parts and Service Coordinator

How would you describe your job to someone that doesn’t know the business?

I work for a company that makes large plastic bins for fruit and automotive parts. My job is to order parts and supplies for maintenance at the facility in Kentucky, but I also take care of sending out orders created at the facilities in California and Washington.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

It’s mentally engaging. It’s the same, but yet, different at the same time.  There are certain things that are routine, which keeps my day structured and organized, but then, there are those unexpected things that get thrown in that make it exciting. Sometimes I’m at a desk, other times I’m moving and organizing parts in the tool crib, with a vendor, or helping my co-workers. Keeps things moving.

Is there anything exciting that you are currently working on?

Currently, I’m working on getting parts into Fiix CMMS and organizing the tool crib, which has been an ongoing project. We just started using the parts feature just a couple months ago for what parts I had already entered. Now, when new parts come in, I upload a picture, enter the description, enter a location, quantity, minimum quantity, last vendor used, and then, I print a QR Barcode label that goes on the bin. The idea is so that the parts can be applied to work orders or certain machines, so when the maintenance tech uses that part, it takes it out of the system, and notifies me when it’s time to re-order. It also allows the techs to know what parts were used the last time on a specific job or machine. Over the summer I did my exit program project for school on creating New Hire Folders for Human Resources here in Shelbyville, and I had a recent conversation about implementing a Recycling Program in Shelbyville, so that may be a new project for the beginning of the new year.

What was your first job?

Of course, I did odd things like babysitting, washing dogs for a groomer, cleaning Kennel cages, worked in haunted houses, just odd and end jobs to get some pocket money, but my first, official, tax paying job was working at McDonald’s when I was 15 years old.




Do you have any hobbies?

It’s funny, I was just thinking the other day that I should look into just getting into something since I’m FINALLY graduating from the University of Louisville on December 13th and my kids are teenagers that are capable of doing their own thing. It’s time to find something for me. I really like to do creative stuff. Build and make things, so we’ll see.

What was the best concert you ever attended?

I like some country, but it’s definitely not my go to choice for listening. I’m more of a 70’s classic rock, 80’s pop, or 90’s hip hop (odd combo I know), but the best concert was actually Reba McEntire. Her and the band entered the stage on this mini airplane, and she did so many quick wardrobe changes that I lost count. Combine that with the fact that Faith Hill presented her the People’s Choice Award LIVE on stage that night was pretty cool. Great concert!

What’s your ideal day off like?

Doing NOTHING. No, seriously. Between work, school, three teenage girls, and the zoo of animals we have, the idea of sitting on a couch and watching mind numb television where I don’t have to think or do ANYTHING sounds fabulous darling.

If you had to eat one meal every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?

That’s a hard one because I love food. Seriously, I’ll eat just about anything, especially if it’s free and I don’t have to cook it.  I guess, I’d have to say steak, baked potato, and broccoli casserole. Just a fat, juicy T-bone with a side of starch AND a veggie smothered in cheese. 😉

Do you have a favorite sport or team?

The closest I’ve ever been to getting into sports is when I used to watch my dad race Figure 8 cars. I’m the person that watches the Super Bowl JUST for the commercials. That’s how into sports I am. LOL.

If you were stuck on an island, who’s the one person you’d chose to help you survive?

I’d have to choose my dad. He’s like a jack of all trades and everyone calls him MacGyver because he can always come up with a way to make something work.  Always coming up with an idea. I’m telling you, the day that I have to actually hire someone else, besides my dad, to do any kind of work or remodeling in my home, I’m not going to know what to do. One of my biggest regrets was not paying more attention when I was younger because he knows how to do so many things that I could have learned.