Jeff Mitchell


Louisville, Kentucky

What is your position in the company?

Vice President of Business Development

How would you describe your job to someone that doesn’t know the business?

My job is to ensure the company continues to grow through new business opportunities and new product development.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I really enjoy the people I work with as well as the returnable packaging industry. It is exciting to learn about new applications and to solve the problems of our customers.  The people in this company have a real passion for solving the customers problems in innovative ways.

Is there anything exciting that you are currently working on?

All our efforts right now are on launching our new innovative Hybrid 1012/1212 product line.This is a new product for us that will allow customers to ship their products around the world in a sustainable way and at the same time save the customer money.  This is a win-win for both the company and the customer.  We are also working with 1% for the Planet in that 1% of every dollar of revenue generated by the sales of the new containers will be donated to a non-profit working to improve the environment.  This is really exciting for us.

What was your first job?

My first real job was at the age of 15 working at a local grocery store as a bagger. We had to also take everyone’s groceries to their car, so it was my first experience with customer service.

Do you have any hobbies?

I really enjoy working in my wood shop making Christmas presents and working on my wood lathe.

What was the best concert you ever attended?

The best concert I have attended is probably my first concert.  I attended a Doobie Brothers concert in the mid 70’s and I can still remember the show like it was yesterday.  I have been a lifelong fan since.

What’s your ideal day off like?

I am not a morning person, so it would be to sleep in and then spend a few hours in my work shop.Followed by an afternoon spent with my wife Michele and my kids.

Are you involved in any nonprofits or community activities that you enjoy?

Not currently but in the past I really enjoyed coaching my kids in their sporting activities.

If you had to eat one meal every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?

My favorite meal of all times is Thanksgiving dinner. I think I could eat turkey, dressing and mashed potatoes every day of the week.

Do you have a favorite sport or team?

I really have 2.  I am an avid University of Louisville fan and I have been a Pittsburgh Steelers fan since I was a kid.

If you were stuck on an island, who’s the one person you’d chose to help you survive?

That would be my wife Michele. I would have a hard time surviving every day much less on an island without her love and support.