Luis Diego Escorriola


Belen, Heredia, Costa Rica

What is your position in the company?

Commercial Manager for Central America and the Caribbean.

…And most recently a lot of my time has been spent in AG shipping development, with fruit headed for Spain.

How would you describe your job to someone that doesn’t know the business?

In my neck of the woods, agricultural bins are not as known or commonly used as they are in the US or Europe. So my job is to educate and develop these markets into using bins for harvest, storage, and processing applications.

My biggest growth has been achieved with the development of the returnable Hybrid bins, used in pineapple, melon, and watermelon exports towards fresh cut facilities in Europe and the United States of America.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I think that my biggest joy in what I do is achieving improvements on the way the agroindustrial sector has been doing things for a long time.

While doing this I have failed, but gotten back up, and during this, I have made very good and lasting customers that have become great friends.

Is there anything exciting that you are currently working on?

The development of the Hybrid bins as a global logistics tool is fascinating. Educating packers, end users, processors, and brokers is no easy task, but getting them all tuned in and seeing them enjoying the benefits is what fuels me every day to move forward.

What was your first job?

My first job was at a pineapple farm in the early 90s, called Hacienda Ojo de Agua. New pineapple varieties were being developed by Del Monte when moving away from their production in Hawaii.

Do you have any hobbies?

I try to swim 3-5 days a week when I am not traveling, and try to surf on my vacations. Some weekends I get to go to the beach. Good thing is that in Costa Rica, we have warm water and waves all year round.

What was the best concert you ever attended?

The concert I have enjoyed the most, was last year (Nov 2018), Luis Miguel: at the Auditorio Nacional de México. I went with some 20 friends from Costa Rica for three days. We had a blast with the best food there is, and some tequilas on the way…



What’s your ideal day off like?

 Spending the day at the beach, doing some open water swimming, or surfing in the morning. Enjoying time with my daughters and wife at the beach with a BBQ, and cocktails with friends from sunset into the night.



Are you involved in any nonprofits or community activities that you enjoy?

My wife and I collaborate at a Catholic group, strengthening family values.

If you had to eat one meal every day for the rest of your life, what would it be?


Do you have a favorite sport or team?

I really enjoy all motor sports, but follow Formula One the closest, and support Costa Rica’s national soccer team.

If you were stuck on an island, who’s the one person you’d chose to help you survive?

My wife, Margarita.